CBC and The Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (CARAS) present the second of five instalments of the JUNOs 365 Songwriters’ Circle virtual series, adapted for an online audience after the popular “Jewel of the JUNOs” event was cancelled in Saskatoon due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Presented by SOCAN in association with Music Publishers Canada, the series of five online events, continuing next Friday, May 15, 2020, features some of Canada’s best songwriters telling the intriguing stories behind the songs, and performing from their homes. The second episode will feature Rose Cousins, Ed Robertson, William Prince, and Tenille Townes.

The JUNOS 365 Songwriters’ Circle will be available free in Canada on CBC Gem and globally on CBC Music’s Facebook and YouTube pages and cbcmusic.ca/junos, every other week on Fridays, until June 26.  For more information, click here.

Formed in 2016, the Haisla Nation hip-hop duo Snotty Nose Rez Kids, from Kitimat, B.C. – composed of rappers Yung Trybez (Quinton Nyce) and Young D (Darren Metz) – have won both Best Hip-Hop Artist and Breakout Artist at the Western Canadian Music Awards; have been shortlisted twice, back-to-back, for the Polaris Prize; and have earned a JUNO Award nomination. In a video interview with SOCAN, they offer some sound advice to young rappers and other novice music creators.


Out of more than 18,000 entries from 140 countries, SOCAN members Tim Moxam, and Khalid Yassein and Devan Glover of Wild Rivers (with co-writer Robyn Dell’Unto), earned first-place prizes in the 2019 International Songwriting Competition (ISC). Moxam won in the Music Video category, for his song, “Honesty,” and Wild Rivers won in the Folk/Singer-Songwriter field, for “I Do.”

Several SOCAN members earned other 2019 ISC awards, as follows:

Second  Place

  • Lyrics Only – Scot Robinson and Bobby Cameron, for “Istanbul” (performed by Scot Free Sessions)

Third Place

  • Blues – Harpdog Brown and Mike Ross, for “No Eyes for Me” (performed by Harpdog Brown)
  • Comedy/Novelty – Avery Pearson and Scout Durwood, for “Fingerblasting Women”  (performed by Scout & Avery)
  • Lyrics Only – Carl Bernard, for “I Am the Storm” (performed by Carl Bernard)
  • Performance – Mathew van Vooght and Dan Mangan, for “Let Me Go” (performed by Mathew V)

For a complete list of 2019 winners and honorable mentions, and to hear the winning songs, visit the ISC website. SOCAN congratulates all of our winning members on their achievements!