On April 26, 2021, Québec Cinéma unveiled the finalists for its Iris Awards, and announced two new awards this year – Best Original Score, Documentary Film and Best Short Film, Documentary – for a total of 30 honours.

Thirteen SOCAN #ComposersWhoScore are finalists in the categories Best Original Score and Best Original Score, Documentary Film.

The 2020 nominees in the Best Original Score category are:

  • Guido Del Fabbro, Pierre Lapointe, for Le Club Vinland – Publishers: Épépiphonie Inc., Productions Avenida Inc.
  • Jean-Phi Goncalves, Éloi Painchaud, Jorane Pelletier, for Target Number One – Publisher: peermusic Ltd.
  • Martin Léon, for My Salinger Year – Publisher: Méloscope
  • Olivier Alary (SACEM), for La nuit des rois
  • Patrice Dubuc, Gaëtan Gravel, for Souterrain

In the Best Original Score, Documentary category, the nominees are:

Anaïs Barbeau-Lavalette’s film La déesse des mouches à feu leads the nominations, with 15. Among the other films with multiple nominations are Souterrain, directed by Sophie Dupuis, and Le Club Vinland, directed by Benoit Pilon, which are nominated 13 times each. Philippe Falardeau’s My Salinger Year is nominated 11 times.

The 22nd edition of the Gala Québec Cinéma will be produced in compliance with current health measures and broadcast live from Radio-Canada’s Studio 42 on Sunday, June 6, 2021 at 8:00 p.m. ET on ICI TÉLÉ. The Gala Artisans, in its sixth edition, will also be produced in compliance with health regulations, and broadcast live from the Ausgang Plaza on Thursday, June 3, 2021, at 8:00 p.m. on ICI ARTV.

For the full list of nominees of the 2021 Gala Québec Cinéma, visit the organization’s website. Good luck to all the nominees!