The Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame (CSHF) is partnering once again with Canadian Music Week (CMW), to celebrate the induction of guitarist, songwriter, broadcaster, and rock legend Kim Mitchell to the Hall of Fame. Mitchell’s friend and fellow singer-songwriter Ed Robertson of Barenaked Ladies will join him to perform onstage, during CMW’s 2020 Canadian Music and Broadcast Industry Awards Gala Dinner on May 21, at the Bluma Appel Theatre in Toronto.

“Kim Mitchell is an originator,” says Vanessa Thomas, Executive Director of CSHF. “Onstage, there’s no one who sounds like him, or can emulate the energy and live performance he gives to his audience; and offstage, he is just as prolific as a songwriter, and as an outspoken radio personality. We’re incredibly excited to honour Kim among the class of 2020 Inductees to the Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame.”

Mitchell has achieved critical acclaim and multi-platinum commercial success over a storied career spanning five decades, and is among Canada’s most respected singers, songwriters, and guitar players. In addition to being the frontman, guitarist, and lead songwriter – with his writing partner Pye Dubois – of the influential, eclectic band Max Webster, he rose from there to prominence and massive Canadian success as an award-winning solo artist.

He is credited with penning (in partnership with Dubois) and recording numerous classic hits including “Go For Soda.” “Rock N Roll Duty,” “Patio Lanterns,” “I am a Wild Party,” All We Are,” and “Easy To Tame” – all which have become part of the Canadian musical landscape.  Mitchell has received three JUNO Awards, and been recognized with numerous SOCAN Awards.  With hMax Webster, he released five albums, which generated many Canadian top 100 hits including “Let Go the Line,” “A Million Vacations,” and “Paradise Skies.”

In the early 2000’s, while maintaining a busy touring schedule, Mitchell was invited to join the on-air staff at Q107 in Toronto.  He left the radio station in 2014, after becoming one of Canada’s most popular and most listened-to afternoon-drive DJs.

Mitchell went back to the recording studio in 2018 to mark his first solo recording in half a dozen years.  He got together with his friends Barenaked Ladies to re-record his song, the Max Webster hit “Diamonds Diamonds.”  Mitchell has just finished his 15th studio recording, The Big Fantasize, to be released soon, and he continues to tour the country, selling out theatres, casinos, and festivals, coast-to-coast.

After CMW, , the Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame will recognize his songwriting accomplishments in the National Music Centre, located at Studio Bell, in Calgary. As the physical home of the Songwriters Hall of Fame, the National Music Centre honours new inductees through on-site exhibitions, featuring stories, photos, artifacts, and memorabilia.

Once again this year, SOCAN members have fared very well in nominations at the Canadian Screen Awards, in the musical categories. Twenty-five of our members have earned nominations in various categories.

Presented by the Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television, the Canadian Screen Awards were born of the fusion of two awards ceremonies – the Genie Awards for movies and Gemini Awards for television. The 2020 awards will be presented over six days during Canadian Screen Week, March 25-31, and the March 29 closing awards gala will be broadcast live on CBC-TV.

The SOCAN nominees are as follows:


Achievement in Music – Original Score
Ian LeFeuvre, Stephen Krecklo – James Vs His Future Self
Robert Carli – Lie Exposed
Peter Chapman – Riot Girls
Andrew Lockington – The Kindness of Strangers

Achievement in Music – Original Song
Bramwell Tovey, Richard Bell – “I’ve Got a Big One,” from Brotherhood
Ian LeFeuvre – “Travel Through,” from James Vs His Future Self
Peter Chapman, Leslie Seaforth (More or Les) – “We Run the World” from Riot Girls


Best Original Music, Non-Fiction
Ken Myhr – The Accountant of Auschwitz
Michelle Osis – The Corporate Coup d’ État
Ohad Benchetrit, Justin Small – A Day in the Life of Earth
Ohad Benchetrit, Justin Small – Remarkable Rabbits
Todor Kobakov – The Guardians

Best Original Music, Fiction
Amin Bhatia, Ari Posner – Anne with an E
Todor Kobakov – Cardinal
Ian LeFeuvre, Ari Posner – Carter
Tom Third – Coroner

Best Original Music, Animation
Ryan Carlson, Brendan Quinn – Abby Hatcher
Brian Pickett, Graeme Cornies, James Chapple, David Kelly – The Daniel Tiger Movie: Won’t You be Our Neighbour?
Amin Bhatia, Chris Tait, Ari Posner, Kris Kuzdak – Let’s Go Luna!
Brian Pickett, Graeme Cornies, James Chapple, David Kelly – Paw Patrol
Asher Lenz, Stephen Skratt – Rusty Rivets

For further information and a complete list of nominees, visit the Canadian Screen Awards website. Congratulations to all our nominees on this great achievement!

In an exclusive interview with SOCAN, screen composers Brian Pickett and Graeme Cornies, co-founding members of the hugely successful, multiple-award-winning screen composing company Voodoo Highway, discuss how they first started writing music for animated childrens’ programs; the runaway, worldwide successes of two shows they’ve scored, and for which they’ve written songs, Daniel Tiger’s Neighbourhood – based on the Neighborhood of Make-Believe from Mister Rogers’ Neighborhood – and Paw Patrol; and one of their shows winning a 2019 Emmy Award. The business is celebrating its 20th anniversary this year, and is rebranding as the Voodoo Highway Music Group.