Sixteen SOCAN #ComposersWhoScore were honoured in musical categories of the 2023 Canadian Screen Awards, presented April 11-16, 2023, in Toronto. SOCAN congratulates all of our winning members on these great achievements!

The winners are:


Best Original Music, Animation
Amin Bhatia, Ari Posner, Kris Kuzdak – Let’s Go Luna! – “Dig It Daddy-O” episode

Best Original Music, Drama
Jonathan Goldsmith – The Porter – Episode 101

Best Original Music, Comedy
Ceréna, Emily Persich, Moël (n/a), Terrell Morris, SVDP (n/a), Vivek Shraya – Sort Of – “Sort Of Who She Is” episode

Best Original Music, Documentary
Tom Third – BLK: An Origin Story – ​​Nova Scotia: Three Epic Migrations, One People

Best Original Music, Factual, Lifestyle, Reality, or Entertainment
Rachael Johnstone, Annelise Noronha, Jason Turriff, Earl Torno – A Cut Above –  Episode 101

Best Original Music, Original Song
Jonathan Goldsmith, Kaïa Kater – The Porter – Episode 104 – “Songbird”


Achievement in Music – Original Score
Todor Kobakov – Brother

Achievement in Music – Original Song
Kate Hewlett – “The Swearing Song,” from The Swearing Jar

Best Original Music in a Feature-Length Documentary
Jonathan Goldsmith – To Kill a Tiger

SOCAN celebrated some of our nominees with a cocktail reception at Gladstone House, in downtown Toronto, in the early evening of April 11, 2023.

Check out all the SOCAN #ComposersWhoScore nominees, and a complete list of all of the Canadian Screen Awards nominees and winners.