SOCAN has presented singer-songwriters Shaun Frank and AJ Healey with a No. 1 Song Award for co-writing “Paper Walls,” performed by Rezz and Metric,  which reached the peak of the CBC Music Top 20 on Jan. 13, 2022.

“Paper Walls” was co-written by Frank, Healey, Metric’s Emily Haines, and Rezz (Isabelle Rezazadeh), and is published by Warner Chappell Music Ltd. and Hyvecity Music.

SOCAN Creative Executive Houtan Hodania presented the award plaque to Frank and Healey on  Jan. 20, 2023, while celebrating with a dinner at Terroni restaurant on Queen Street West in downtown Toronto. Haines and Rezz will receive their awards at a later date.

SOCAN congratulates all of the co-writers, publishers, and performers of “Paper Walls,” on this great achievement!

SOCAN CEO Jennifer Brown, along with several of the organization’s Vice Presidents and department heads, addressed more than 100 music publishers of all kinds for two separate online Town Hall meetings, for Anglophones on Jan. 17 and Francophones on Jan. 19, 2023 – during which we provided key information and updates on Membership Department activities, our work maximizing royalties, and improvements to data & technology, and then answered questions.

At both meetings, Chief Membership Officer Jean-Christian Céré spoke about his team, new hires, and reiterated his goal of getting back to our core activities: royalty collection and distribution. Céré also described our efforts to improve service quality, data collection and processing, and committed to ensuring that SOCAN responds more quickly to publishers’ questions. “The results of our efforts are already being felt, but there’s still much work to be done,” he said at the Jan. 19 gathering.

SOCAN Chief Financial Officer Rob Bennett disclosed that for our 2022 results, we’re seeing a solid increase in overall performing and reproduction rights collections and domestic revenue, and huge increases in digital revenue, and looking at various opportunities to continue to optimize our operating expenses.

Leslie Craig, SOCAN’s Vice President of Royalty Services, spoke about the technical improvements to the portal reporting process and the increased efficiency in processing recordings through CISAC’s harmonized cue sheet, for automatic ingestion into our systems that will benefit all our members.

Alan Triger, Head of Strategic Solutions & Analytics, talked about the work that’s been done and continues to be done on the online  member portal, data cleanup of duplicates that are part of the backlog, and of the work to improve and strengthen royalty statements. Daryl Hamilton, Manager of Operations and Projects for the Membership department, said that the priority was to improve systems and communication with publishers.

At the Jan. 17 meeting, Andrea Kokonis, SOCAN’s Chief Legal Officer and General Counsel, said that the Supreme Court of Canada recently  agreed with SOCAN on the making available right for streaming and downloading, giving copyright owners the ability for greater control their work on those platforms. She talked about pursuing agreements for audio post-synchronization for film, TV online, and digital, and our continuing work to license TikTok. Kokonis mentioned that Bill C-11 – which includes regulations to oblige digital media companies to showcase and recommend Canadian and Francophone music, and to participate in financial support programs that help foster its creation – passed in the House of Commons in 2022, and is now being amended in the Senate.

In answering questions from the publishers, we explained the decrease in pay audio royalties; how we’ll be working in 2023 on a single login  for publishers who represent multiple member accounts; and our work on making song update requests and submissions achievable by publishers themselves through the site.

At the Jan. 19 meeting, In response to questions on issues related to the portal, Jean-Christian Céré emphasized that a lot of effort has been made, and will continue to be made to improve the process of resolving problems encountered in this period of technological transition, with the goal of having a real impact on the user experience. He also committed to re-evaluate the resource requirements for audio-visual synchronization licenses, and the audiovisual sector in general, at the account executive level. Martin Lavallée, Senior Legal Counsel and Head of Reproduction Rights, summarized current and upcoming efforts to update our system, increase its capacity, and improve royalty reporting to provide more detail. “Our goal is to revolutionize our royalties statements in 2023,” he said.

It’s in these constructive, transparent exchanges that we continue to provide a level of service that reaches, and exceeds, the expectations of our publisher members.

Thanks to all of our music publishers who attended the events!

The SOCAN Foundation today announced the five recipients of the 2022 SiriusXM Black Canadian Music Awards, created to recognize and celebrate the artistic merit demonstrated by Black music creators: Adria Kain, AHI, Desarae Dee, Nonso Amadi and Zach Zoya, each of whom will receive $10,000 (double last year’s amount) to support their development.

Special distinctions and awards of $1,000 are also being made to City Fidelia, Haley Smalls, Leila Day, Promise, and Shreez.

To listen to the music of all of the 2022 winners, click here.

“What an honour to participate in amplifying Black creatives. So many of the submissions were incredible, making this the hardest jury process to date,” said Keziah Myers, Executive Director at ADVANCE Music Canada, and chair of the jury. “I learned of writers and composers that I didn’t know about, automatically looked up their projects, and it inspired me to think of ways to amplify them within the industry, and provide more vehicles for opportunity. Congratulations to the winners!” Myers was part of the SOCAN  Foundation committee that created the Black Canadian Music Awards, and has also served as a jury member for the last three years.

This year, the Awards had a record number of applications from artists across Canada, spanning a multitude of genres. Winners were selected by a jury and advisory council of prominent Black artists and industry leaders. Jury members include Keziah Myers (Executive Director at Advance), Nicolas Ouellet (Radio Host at Radio-Canada), Lord Quest (Executive Creative, Black Music, at SOCAN), Marika Siewert (Recording Artist) and Wayne Samuels (President and CEO at Wired Management Inc).

“We’re so proud to help bring this program to life for a third year, and to double the prize money for these incredibly talented and deserving recipients,” said Michelle Mearns, VP, Programming & Operations, SiriusXM Canada. “SiriusXM is committed to supporting Black Canadian artists, and I can’t wait to see what these artists create in the future.”

For more information about the SOCAN Foundation, please visit